Torrington Parks and Recreation Commission

Coe Memorial Park Committee

Minutes of Joint Special Meeting

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

5:15 P.M.

Chairperson Patricia Fairchild called to order a special joint meeting of the Parks and Recreation Commission and the Coe Memorial Park Committee on Wednesday, September 7, 2011, at 5:15 P.M. at the Armory. In attendance were Commissioners Fran Ducotey, Gerry Carbone, Dan Lovallo, and Jim Pescatore. Committee members in attendance were Frank Pennington, Dr. Isadore Temkin, Susan Coe Holbrook, Mary Zbell, Mark Trivella, and Mark McEachern. Also in attendance was Superintendent Brett Simmons.

The purpose of the meeting was to review and vote on the proposal submitted by Fuss & O'Neil.

Discussion points from the meeting included:

- Concern with the high cost of the architect's fees.
- Eliminating the special projects of "Tree Transplant Program" and "Landscape Guidelines Manuel" Perhaps Mike Zaharek and Kim Barbieri could work on these projects for the park.
- Adding a sidewalk to the lower portion of the park.
- The choice of the horse-shoe parking lot plan with twenty-four parking spaces.

On a motion by Susan Holbrook with a second by Frank Pennington, the Coe Memorial Park Committee voted unanimously to eliminate the two added projects called "Tree Transplant Program" and "Landscape Guidelines Manual."

On a motion by Susan Coe Holbrook with a second by Mark Trivella, the Coe Memorial Park Committee voted unanimously to approve Parking Option 3, the horse-shoe design, with twenty-four parking spaces.

On a motion by Jim Pescatore with second by Dan Lovallo, the commission voted unanimously to eliminate the two added projects called "Tree Transplant Program" and "Landscape Guidelines Manual."

On a motion by Fran Ducotey with a second by Gerry Carbone, the commission voted unanimously to approve Parking Option 3, the horseshoe design, with twenty-four parking spaces.

Superintendent Simmons will contact Fuss & O'Neil with the results of this meeting.

We will meet as a joint group when the new proposal is given.

Minutes submitted by, Patricia A. Fairchild, Recorder of the Day